Skip Navigation Links.
 
Your Panacea version: Unknown
 

Locks

It is possible to access Panacea's database from multiple terminals at the same time.  Indeed it is even possible to access the database from multiple tabs within Panacea itself at the same time.  A problem can occur if two users attempt to access the same data item at the same time.  For example, if two different Panacea users on different terminals attempt to edit the same person's record  at the same time, it is theoretically possible for the changes made by the one user to be overwritten by the other user.

To prevent this problem from occurring Panacea implements a system of locking.  When you attempt to edit an existing data item (e.g. if you click Edit to make changes on a person's record ) Panacea first attempts to lock that data item.  If the data item is already locked by another user a lock warning will be displayed with the details of who owns the lock (see right) and you will not be able to edit it.

It may also be useful to see all the current locks on the database.  Click on System - Locks and the following window will be displayed:

The following columns are shown:

Date/time
This shows the date and time when the lock was obtained, i.e. when the user started editing the data item.

Type
This shows the type of data item that was locked, e.g. person , company , account  etc.

Description
Details of the data item that was locked.  For example, if a person's record  was locked then the person's name will be shown in the Description column.

Practice
This shows the practice the user was working in when the lock was obtained.

User
This shows the name of the user who obtained the lock.

Workstation
This shows the name of the computer (workstation) where the lock was obtained.

The following buttons are displayed on the window.  Note that the Release and Release All buttons are only displayed if you are logged in as the SuperUser .

Click this button to release the currently highlighted lock.
Click this button to release all locks on the entire database.
Click this button to refresh the display.  This may be necessary due to the fact that locks can be added and removed by other users at any time.

Releasing Locks

It is seldom necessary to force a lock to be released by clicking the Release or Release All buttons.  Obtaining and releasing locks is done automatically by Panacea.  It is recommended, therefore, that you avoid doing this.

There are a few situations where it becomes necessary, though.  For example, if a user starts editing a data item (e.g. a person's record ) and then experiences a power failure before he/she has saved the record, the record will remain locked and nobody will be able to access it.  This can be solved by clicking Release or Release All, as described above.

As an added protection mechanism you will not be able to release locks while other users are logged in.

 
 
Satisfied with the content on this page?  Help us to improve by providing us with feedback:
 
How easy was this page to understand?  
Did this page cover everything you wanted to know?  
Comments: